Eat, Drink & Be Merry

`Tis the season to go all out – splurge on yummy desserts and feast on the delicious stuffing, turkey, ham and whatever else satisfies your palate!

Before you begin your journey toward fat land, I suggest putting on some fat pants. These will give you extra flexibility and make you feel far less guilty when you go for that second or third helping! As much as we all wish that we could control our cravings during this time of good cheer and beer, we often can’t.

For me, I always go over board whenever I have a break from anything and especially during Christmas! When there is nothing to do but relax, enjoy others company, watch movies, curl up by the fire and read a good book,  food is sure to go hand in hand with all these activities and thus it is extremely hard to stick to a diet. Instead it ends up being kicked to the curb just like that waistline of yours!

Some tips that I am going to try to follow this Christmas season are…

  1. Before tucking into a meal, remove any skin – this is where the most fat can be found!
  2. Pile your plate high with colourful veggies, such as red cabbage, carrots, brussels sprouts, swede, cauliflower and etc.
  3. Opt for turkey
  4. Look out for foods that are loaded with butter
  5. When there are lots of choices, take as many little things rather than lots of one thing – like those creamy potatoes. This ensures you are getting a balanced meal and not overloading on fatty or high carbohydrate foods
  6. For every glass of alcohol or soft drink, have a glass of water. Water fills you up, has no calories and will help wash out the excesses.

As much as I wish I could stick to these eating tips.. it is likely that I will be able to! For instance just yesterday I made a large batch of sugar cookies and I could not help myself but snack on the dough and icing sugar while I was making them. Even when they were fresh out of the oven, I was already full from eating while baking, but I couldn’t resist having about three warm cookies which later made me feel extremely guilty! I don’t think I will be able to survive christmas without overeating – it is a lot harder than it looks!

I am sure that after a Christmas filled with mince pies, pudding, sugar cookies, fruit cake and more, it won’t be any surprise that come New Year I will struggle to fit into my jeans. I guess I know where I will be spending most of my time in January.. the gym.

IMG_3226

Naked cookies, fresh out of the oven

IMG_3228

Irresistible

IMG_3251

Sprinkles

IMG_3249 IMG_3252 IMG_3253 IMG_3256

What do you think?

